9.29.17 Southern Nationals Bonus Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

9.29.17 Southern Nationals Bonus Late Models Results

(September 29, 2017) Shawn Chastain overtook race leader Casey Roberts on lap 18 of the 51-lap FK Rod Ends 14th Annual Tarheel 50 and went on to capture the $4,053 payday on Friday Night during the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series-sanctioned event at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, N.C. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

The Murphy, N.C. driver also held off a last-lap attempt by David Payne to go on for the victory while driving the Interstate Welding and Sims Construction-sponsored Clements-powered Longhorn Chassis. Chastain became the ninth different winner in ten races on the tour.

Fast Qualifier Casey Roberts and Donald McIntosh brought the 18 car field to life to start the 51 lap main event which paid tribute to the late Frank Thompson. Roberts jumped to the early lead. By the 17th circuit, Shawn Chastain had worked from his third place starting spot to challenge for the lead and by the next circuit, had jumped into the lead with Roberts and a host of others in hot pursuit. Chastain wouldn’t get challenged until the final lap as fourth place starting David Payne threw a slide job into turn three pushing him up the race track. Chastain would continue this run on the bottom side of the speedway and would hold on to win by just 00.142 seconds at the finish line for the victory. David Payne would finish second followed by Donald McIntosh third, Kenny Collins fourth after rallying from the tail and ninth starting Kurt English finished fifth.

Seven caution flags slowed the event. The first yellow came on lap one as Tim Rucker spun his mount in turn four. The next yellow would fly on lap six as a multi car accident involving Kenny Collins, Blake Spencer and Johnny Chastain would slow the field yet again. On lap 20, Anthony Sanders would slow his car on the front chute to bring out another yellow flag and on lap 21, fifth place runner Brent Dixon spun in turn four bringing out the fourth yellow flag of the night. On lap 22, Casey Roberts slowed off of turn two with a flat tire. On lap 35, Shane Tankersley slowed in turn one and on lap 44 Clayton Turner and Casey Turman got together off of turn four and brought out the event’s final caution flag.

Before the start of the main event, promoter Ray Cook announced that the 15th Annual FK Rod Ends Tarheel 50 will take place on Friday Night September 28, 2018 at Tri-County Race Track and pay a record $10,000 to the winner. This will mark the largest event ever at Tri-County.

The next event for the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV will be on October 12/13/14 at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky. as the tour will sanction the 27th Annual Fall Classic presented by Caton Industrial Painting paying $15,000-to-win and will be 75 feature laps in distance.

Official Summary of Results
14th Annual FK Rod Ends Tarheel 50 presented by Jacky Jones Automotive Group
Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series

Feature Finish:
1. Shawn Chastain-Murphy, N.C.
2. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
3. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
4. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
5. Kurt English-Murphy, N.C.
6. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
7. Jamie Oliver-Murphy, N.C.
8. Blake Spencer-St. Augustine, Fla.
9. Shane Tankersley-Morganton, Ga.
10. Clayton Turner-Clayton, Ga.
11. Casey Turman-LaFayette, Ga.
12. Jeff Neubert-Rockford, Tenn.
13. Craig Greer-Cleveland, Tenn.
14. Joey Standridge-Tellico Plains, Tenn.
15. Brent Dixon-Elberton, Ga.
16. Anthony Sanders-Spartanburg, S.C.
17. Johnny Chastain-Murphy, N.C.
18. Tim Rucker-Madisonville, Tenn.

Time of Race: 35 minutes, 32 seconds
Margin of Victory: 00.142 seconds
Yellow Flags: Seven (laps 1, 6, 20, 21, 22, 35, 44)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Roberts (1-17), S. Chastain (18-51)
Entries: 18
Overall Top Qualifier: Casey Roberts-12.594 seconds ($200 sponsored by Cherokee Septic Service)
Provisional Starters: None

Current Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series Points:
1. Donald McIntosh-1,846
2. David Payne-1,630
3. Joey Standridge-1,125
4. Jeff Neubert-896
5. Jamie Oliver-866
6. Billy Ogle Jr.-799
7. Brandon Overton-744
8. Carder Miller-710
9. Mike Marlar-594
10. Levi Ashby-591