9.3.10 Albany Saratoga Speedway Results

9.3.10 Albany Saratoga Speedway Results

MALTA – Mike Bruno became the first three-time winner in the modified division at Albany-Saratoga Speedway on Friday night, and wrestled the point lead away from defending track champion Ken Tremont Jr. in the process.

Tremont began the night with a three-point lead over Bruno, but with Bruno taking the checkered flag and Tremont crossing the finish line fourth, Bruno will go into the final points race of the season with a three-point lead over Tremont.

But double points will be on the line in all divisions on Friday, Sept. 10 on Hometown Heroes Night/Championship Weekend, and anything can happen, especially with Marc Johnson sitting a close third with 754 points, just seven behind Bruno.

The closest point race ever at the historic Malta track took place in 1986, when Bob Savoie won the championship by a single point over Don Ackner.

Bruno, who had back-to-back victories in May, came out of the sixth row in the starting grid on Friday night, but really began making his move after a caution on lap four, when Rich Ronca, Dave DePaulo and Leon Gonyo got together.

Bruno was ninth when the caution came out, but was up to second, behind leader Don Ronca, by lap 10.

Bruno continued to stalk Ronca and finally made the pass for the lead on lap 20.

Bruno went on to win the 35-lap feature, with a 1.2-second cushion over Ronca, who had to hold off Johnson for third. Tremont was fourth, and Matt Depew cracked the top five for the third time in the last four races.

Disqualifications marred two of the other features. Andy Durie took the checkered flag in the sportsman feature, but was disqualified when he went through tech, giving the victory to Scott Duell, his second straight win. Jack Swinton, Hunter Bates, Ricky Quick and Paul Dunham Jr. completed the top five.

Jon Miller was disqualified when he failed to pass tech after winning the Renegade feature, giving that victory to Brandon Emigh. That ruling will probably cost Miller the point championship, as he went into the night trailing Dave Emigh by two points.

Brandon Emigh took over the point lead, and unofficially, has a nine-point cushion over his brother going into Championship Weekend.

Mike Scorzelli ended a disappointing run of bad luck with his third victory of the year in the 30-lap pro-stock feature. Scorzelli, who hadn’t been to victory lane since May 28, took the lead away from Chad White on a restart on lap 27 and ended up with a comfortable cushion, as White dropped out one lap later.

Mike Paquin finished second and Kim Duell was third. Duell took the point lead away from Sheldon Martin, who only completed five laps after spending a good portion of the feature in the pits.

Bobby Lavair drove to his first win of the season in the Bomber Warriors feature.

All divisions will be in action on Championship Weekend, All fire, police, rescue and military personnel will be admitted to the grandstands free of charge on Hometown Heroes Night. Racing will begin a 6:45 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: MIKE BRUNO, Don Ronca, Marc Johnson, Ken Tremont Jr., Matt Depew, Chris Ross, Kris Vernold, Andy Lindeman, Dave Manny, Alex Bell, Randy Hotaling, Andy Boniewski, Skip Shippee, John Hines, Leon Gonyo, Keith Flach, Dave DePaulo, Ron Proctor, Joe Williams, Rich Ronca.

DENOOYER DASH FOR CASH: JOE WILLIAMS, Keith Flach, Leon Gonyo, Marc Johnson, Chris Ross, Ron Proctor.

SPORTSMAN: SCOTT DUELL, Jack Swinton, Hunter Bates, Ricky Quick, Paul Dunham Jr., Luke Klob, Adam Tranka, Fred Proctor, Jake Szab, Kenny Martin, Angelo DeCarlo, Chris Johnson. DQ: Andy Durie.

PRO-STOCKS: MIKE SCORZELLI, Mike Paquin, Kim Duell, Darryl Carl, Carl Guilefuss, Jim Monroe Jr., Kevin Van Chance, Chad White, Scott Duell, Sheldon Martin.

RENEGADES: BRANDON EMIGH, Dan Petronis, Josh Coonradt, Paul Mulrain, Rowdy Birch, Bill Burlingame, Dave Emigh, Dan Older, Mike Ostrander, Frank Monroe, Chris Murray. DQ: Jon Miller.

BOMBER WARRIORS: BOBBY LAVAIR, Colin Clow, Mike Cranston, Mark Lindblade, Dan Older Jr., John Lindblade.

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report