9.3.17 Wayne County Speedway Results - Dirt Racing Report

9.3.17 Wayne County Speedway Results

Finally etching his name in the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions history books, Findlay’s Caleb Helms is an Arctic Cat All Star main event winner, earning $10,000 during the annual Pete Jacobs Memorial at NAPA Wayne County Speedway. The victory, undoubtedly the largest payday of his young career, was a 1st ever during Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions competition.

The pilot of the Big Jerk Premium Jerky/Helms and Sons Excavating/Ferguson/Tommy Tire Sales/#17 charged from the inside of row five to claim his spot on top of the feature podium, withstanding multiple charges from former Arctic Cat All Star champion, Tim Shaffer and Cole Duncan during the closing circuits.

“Man… I’m really happy to be here, ” Caleb Helms said with relief in victory lane. “I couldn’t have done it without my family, my dad, my grandpa, my wife, my boys. I’ve been believing I could be here. It has been a long time coming it feels like, but I’m so happy we are finally here.”

Joey Saldana and Chad Kemenah led the feature field to green on Sunday night at NAPA Wayne County Speedway as Saldana earned the early advantage, leading Kemenah and Danny Mumaw by the flag stand for the 1st time. Five cautions interrupted the first eight circuits of the 35 lap main event. During that time, Saldana remained in control, keeping the tight battle for second through fourth Helms, Mumaw and Kemenah in his rear view mirror. During the lap eight restart, Mumaw, who worked by Helms the circuit prior, drove under Saldana for the lead in turn one. Despite Saldana’s attempt to retake the top spot in turns three and four with a slide job, Mumaw maintained in command.

All momentum would soon be lost once again as the caution flag reappeared on lap nine. Mumaw led the feature field back to green with Saldana right on his tail tank. the Wooster driver attempted to run away from the field, but Saldana never allowed it, keeping just a few car lengths between himself and Mumaw. As the pair reached the back of the field, Mumaw’s lead diminished completely, soon finding himself on the back bumper of lapped traffic with Saldana on his heels. Unfortunately for Mumaw, his lead would end in traffic as contact with a lapped car sent him skating into the infield off of the back stretch and also collecting Saldana. Helms, who battled his way into third just before the incident, inherited the top spot.

Green flag conditions returned with Helms now in control over Shaffer and Cole Duncan. Utilizing the very top side of the speedway, Helms was able to maintain momentum over the other front runners, but not without some added pressure from the “Steel City Outlaw” Tim Shaffer. When Helms and Shaffer entered traffic on lap 25, the gap between the two disappeared completely, battling nearly side by side for 4 circuits from laps 26 to 29. Luckily for Helms, caution flags flew once again, ultimately setting up a clear track and clean air the remaining distance.

“That late caution definitely helped us,” Caleb Helms explained. “I felt like we were finally starting to hit stride. I was able to get my wing back a little bit further and figure out where I needed to enter the corners. Andy Potter did a great job with this car. We keep learning night in and night out.”

In the Lowes Super Stock feature, Charlie Duncan would set the pace for the opening 6 laps from his pole position, but mechanical issues with the #16 on lap seven ended Duncan’s run. Up until that point, it was a multi car battle for second as Mansfield’s Kyle Moore had moved into that position on lap two with track champion Bob Daugherty, Paul Holmes, Trae Schonauer, John Wilson, Todd Werntz and Jordan James all dueling for top five positioning. During the caution for Duncan, Schoenauer developed a flat tire and went to the pits to change it.

Driving the Kryptonite Race Cars/Keller Flooring/ Tim Arnold Motorsports #11, Moore would start to expand his lead as the competition started to weed it self out as Daugherty would pull off on lap 12 and two circuits later, James would pull into the infield. Moore had stretched his lead out to almost a straight away ahead of Wilson, who had taken second from Daugherty on the lap seven restart. Holmes was in third as Werntz and Jim Nicely battled back and forth for the 4th position. As the checkered flag waved, Moore went to the Summit Racing victory lane for the second time this season at ‘Orrville’s Historic Oval’ with Wilson in second followed by Holmes, Werntz and Nicely. Heat winners were Wilson, Moore and Daugherty.

The next action at NAPA Wayne County Speedway will be on Friday and Saturday, September 22nd & 23rd for the 5th annual Ohio Dirt Blow out. Go to www.waynecountyspeedway.com for more information on this event. The Arctic Cat All Stars will return on Saturday, October 7th to end the racing season at NAPA WCS.


Saturday, September 3, 2017


Heat 1 Cale Conley, Ryan Smith, Lee Jacobs, Max Stambaugh, Trevor Baker, John Garvin, Jordan Mackison, Roger Campbell, Brad Lamberson

Heat 2 T J Michael, Cole Duncan, Tim Shaffer, Brandon Wimmer, Andrew Palker, George Hobaugh, Steve Butler, Brent Matus, Jordan Harble

Heat 3 Joey Saldana, Danny Mumaw, Travis Philo, Dale Blaney, Brad Haudenschild, Brandon Matus, Clay Riney, Tyler Esh

Heat 4 Chad Kemenah, Caleb Helms, Caleb Armstrong, Brandon Spithaler, Ryan Broughton, Hunter Mackison, Troy Kingan

Dash 1 Joey Saldana, Danny Mumaw, Caleb Helms, Cole Duncan, T J Michael

Dash 2 Chad Kemenah, Cale Conley, Tim Shaffer, Ryan Smith, Dale Blaney

B- Main Tyler Esh, Brandon Matus, Jordan Mackison, George Hobaugh, Steve Butler, John Gavin, Roger Campbell, Brad Lamberson, Brent Matus, Hunter Mackison, Jordan Harble, Troy Kingan, Clay Riney

A- Main Caleb Helms, Tim Shaffer, Cole Duncan, Chad Kemenah, Cale Conley, Caleb Armstrong, Ryan Smith, Lee Jacobs, Andrew Palker, Dale Blaney, Brandon Wimmer, Tyler Esh, Ryan Broughton, Trevor Baker, Brandon Spithaler, T J Michael, Max Stambaugh, Joey Saldana, Danny Mumaw, Brandon Matus, Travis Philo, Jordan Mackison, Steve Butler, Brad Haudenschild, George Hobaugh
Matt Smith (MAS Race Promotions) Australian Pursuit Jordan Harble, Brad Haudenschild, Caleb Helms, Lee Jacobs, Cale Conley, Max Stambaugh, Tyler Esh, Jordan Mackison, Caleb Armstrong, Clay Riney


Heat 1 John Wilson, Jordan James, Paul Holmes, Gary Hensel Jr., Brandon Welker, Don Rutt, Chris Albright, Rishard Grogg, Jarret Rendel

Heat 2 Kyle Moore, Jim Nicely, Todd Werntz, Mike Rose, Eric Eicholtz, Paul McVicker, Bob Fry, Ryan Ambrose, Ryan Tope

Heat 3 Bob Daugherty, Charlie Duncan, Trae Schonauer, Tyler Nicely, Tim Coen, Jamie Gibbs, Todd Gallion, Gary McGregor dns

B- Main Paul McVicker, Chris Albright, Richard Grogg, Jamie Gibbs, Ryan Ambrose, Don Rutt, Bob Fry dns, Todd Gallion dns, Jarret Rendel dns, Ryan Tope dns, Gary McGregor dns

Feature Kyle Moore, John Wilson, Paul Holmes, Todd Werntz, Jim Nicely, Eric Eicholtz, Chris Albright, Tyler Nicely, Trae Schonauer, Richard Grogg, Jamie Gibbs, Don Rutt, Jordan James, Bob Daugherty, Charlie Duncan, Mike Rose, Paul McVicker, Tim Coen, Brandon Welker, Gary Hensel Jr.