4.20.18 Spring Nationals Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

4.20.18 Spring Nationals Late Models Results

By Michael Despain
JUNCTION CITY, KY – April 20, 2018 – The Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV would present event number five of its 2018 tour at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, KY on Friday evening as the track hosted the series for the 6th Annual Spring Showdown and Michael Chilton of Salvisa, KY would become the fourth different series winner in five events so far in 2018 by claiming the $4,000 payday.
The win would be Chilton’s second Spring Nationals career victory and would aboard his Caton Industrial Painting, Parkview Home Center, Dial Painting, MKC Transport, Irvin Enterprises, Brucebilt Performance sponsored #97 Rocket Chassis, Bullock Race Engines powered entry.
Eddie Carrier, Jr. and Eric Wells would duel side-by-side for the lead at the start of the 40 lap, $4,000 to win contest, with Carrier, Jr. edging in front of Wells on lap three. Carrier, Jr. would have some breathing room by lap five over Wells, while Michael Chilton, Casey Roberts, and Stephen Breeding also gave chase. The leaders would start working a bit of slower traffic by lap seven and Chilton would close in on Wells for second and take the position on lap ten. Chilton would then set his sights on Carrier, Jr. as Carrier, Jr. would encounter heavy traffic on lap thirteen, allowing Chilton to close right up to his rear bumper.
Just as action was about to pick up, Fred Perry, Jr. would spin his machine in turn two to draw the caution flag with fourteen laps complete. The restart would see the front trio of Carrier, Jr., Wells, and Chilton remain the same, while Breeding would work past Roberts for the fourth position. Two circuits later, Aaron Ridley would make his way into the top five by scooting by Roberts for the fifth position before the final caution of the event waved on lap eighteen when Nathan Vawter would loop his machine in turn four. The restart would again see the front three remain the same on the opening lap back under the green flag, while Ridley would drive past Breeding for the fourth position and would take third from Wells one lap later on lap nineteen.
The action would again heat up for the lead when the lead pair of Carrier, Jr. and Chilton would catch slower traffic on lap twenty-five as the pair would race side-by-side for the lead until Chilton was able to use a lapped car for a pick and work past Carrier, Jr. down the backstretch for the lead on lap twenty-nine, with Jason Jameson working his way into the top five when took the fifth position from Breeding one circuit later on lap thirty. Chilton would slowly pull away from Carrier, Jr during the final ten laps of the event and see the checkered flag first, with Carrier, Jr. settling for runner-up honors, while Ridley would complete the podium finishers with a third-place effort. Wells and Jameson would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Breeding, Roberts, Zach Leonhardi, Jason Miller, and Todd Coffman.
The Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV next event will be Saturday April 21 at Florence Speedway in Union, KY, paying $5,000 to win.
Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals, and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com.
Official Summary of Results
Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, KY on April 20, 2018
1. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
2. Eddie Carrier, Jr.-Salt Rock, W.V.
3. Aaron Ridley-Chatsworth, Ga.
4. Eric Wells-Hazard, Ky.
5. Jason Jameson-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
6. Stephen Breeding-Isom, Ky.
7. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
8. Zach Leonhardi-Cartersville, Ga.
9. Jason Miller-Barryville, Va.
10. Todd Coffman-Junction City, Ky.
11. Buzz Williams-Danville, Ky.
12. Forrest Trent-Talbott, Tenn.
13. Chicky Barton-Middlesboro, Ky.
14. Jeff Neubert-Rockford, Tenn.
15. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
16. Jonathan Couch-Jackson, Ky.
17. Steve Stollings-Hazard, Ky.
18. Fred Perry, Jr.-Central City, Ky.
19. Nathan Vawter-Ninevah, Ind.
20. Austin Taylor-Harrodsburg, Ky.
DNS- Jason Welshan-Rockford, Tenn.
Time of Race: 20 minutes, 56 seconds
Margin of Victory: 2.893 seconds
Yellow Flags: 2 (lap 15, lap 18)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Eddie Carrier, Jr. (1-28), Michael Chilton (29-40)
Entries: 21
Overall Top Qualifier: Eddie Carrier, Jr. (Group A) 13.228 seconds
Provisional Starters: None
Dash (4 laps)- Eric Wells, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Michael Chilton, Casey Roberts
Heat One Finish (10 laps/all transfer)- Stephen Breeding, Zach Leonhardi, Jason Miller, Ryan King, Buzz Williams, Nathan Vawter, Austin Taylor (DNS-Jason Welshan)
Heat Two Finish (10 laps/all transfer)- Aaron Ridley, Jason Jameson, Todd Coffman, Chicky Barton, Forrest Trent, Jeff Neubert, Jonathan Couch, Steve Stollings, Fred Perry, Jr.
Current Spring Nationals Points:
1. Eric Wells-938
2. Casey Roberts-908
3. Zach Leonhardi-898
4. Aaron Ridley-892
5. Ryan King-844
6. Shanon Buckingham-710
7. David Payne-682
8. Brandon Kinzer-676
9. Chicky Barton-672
10. Donald McIntosh-578