4.6.13 Southern All Star Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

4.6.13 Southern All Star Late Models Results

Tazewell, TN-April 6, 2013- The Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series visited Tazewell Speedway for the first time since 2006 on Saturday evening and Chris Madden of Gray Court, SC would lead all 50 laps of the 4th Annual Charles Trammell Memorial en route to a $5,000 payday at the Gary Hall promoted East Tennessee speedplant.

Madden and Bryan Hendrix would bring the field to the green flag, only to see Hendrix slam the outside retaining wall in turn one to cause the first of seven caution periods that slowed the event. A tangle between Steve Smith and Jason Trammell would slow the pace again after only 1 lap had been scored. Back underway, Madden would show the way, while Tommy Kerr and Billy Ogle, Jr. battling for second, with Vic Hill fourth. The front four would begin the process of working slower traffic and Madden would actually open a bit of a lead over Ogle, Jr., but a caution for an incident with Bo Shirley on the backchute slowed the pace.

This restart would see teammates Ogle, Jr. and Kerr trade slidejobs for the runner-up spot with Madden able to scoot away, with Mike Weeks and Stacey Boles now battling for fifth behind fourth place Hill. Two more cautions as a Josh Henry flat slowed the contest and after Jason Hiett rolled to a stop in turn four on lap 31, fourth place Hill would see mechanical issues end his evening as he rolled pitside during the caution period. Ogle, Jr. would challenge Madden repeatedly on restart and would roll under Madden on several occasions, but Madden would continue to lead the way. Meanwhile, fifteenth starter Hunter Peacock would roll his way into the top five by the lap 37 for a slowed Steve Smith on the frontchute.

This restart would see Ogle, Jr. pressure Madden again for the race lead, but Madden would drive off to a four car length advantage by the time the final caution flew on lap 43 when third place running Kerr would limp his mount to a stop in turn two. The final laps would go caution-free and Madden would see the checkered flag first as the 37 year old would pilot his Hamrick’s of Gaffney/Henderson Amusements/Century Plastics sponsored #44 Bloomquist Race Car powered by a Clements Race Engine to the victory. This was Madden’s 40th career Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series victory, moving him to a tie for second on the all-time winners list with Dale McDowell. Madden also became the fourth different winner in just five events on the tour’s schedule.

Ogle, Jr. would finish second, with Boles coming home in third, while Peacock and Weeks completing the top five. The remainder of the top ten would be seventeenth starting Riley Hickman, Mark Vineyard, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Josh Collins, and Mark Rosner. In preliminary action, Madden would be the WhitePerformance.com Time Trials overall top qualifier at 10.944 seconds, while PPM Racing Products Last Chance Showdowns went to Steve Smith and Jason Trammell.

The next action for the Southern All Star Racing Series will occur on Saturday May 4 at Talladega Short Track in Talladega, AL. That event will pay $4,000 to win and be held in conjunction with NASCAR Sprint Cup weekend at Talladega.

Further information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 924-4546 or PR/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or you can log on to the official series website at www.sasdirt.com . Also, LIKE the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series on Facebook or be a FOLLOWER on Twitter @SASDIRT.

SUMMARY-Southern All Star Racing Series-Event #5-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, Tennessee-“4th Annual Charles Trammell Memorial”

Round # 5 of Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series/2013 Season
Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN
A-MAIN (50 lap/$5,000 to win)
1. Billy Ogle, Jr. (Knoxville, TN)
2. Stacy Boles (Clinton, TN)
3. Hunter Peacock (Gray, GA)
4. Mike Weeks (Friendsville, TN)
5. Riley Hickman (Chattanooga, TN)
6. Mark Vineyard (Powell, TN)
7. Jeff Wolfenbarger (Clinton, TN)
8. Josh Collins (Knoxville, TN)
9. Mark Rosner (Rockford, TN)
10. Tommy Kerr (Maryville, TN)
11. Steve Smith (Powell, TN)
12. Bret Holmes (Munford, AL)
13. Vic Hill (Mosheim, TN)
14. Jason Hiett (Oxford, AL)
15. Josh Henry (Newport, TN)
16. Bo Shirley (Gadsden, AL)
17. Kayne Hickman (Soddy Daisy, TN)
18. Michael Chilton (Salvisa, KY)
19. Bryan Hendrix (Knoxville, TN)
20. Jason Trammell (Powell, TN)
21. Chris Madden (Gray Court, SC) – (DQ’d Tires)

Entries- 21
Lap Leaders- 1 (Madden 1-50)
Cautions- 7 (Lap 0, 1, 17, 22, 31, 37, 43)
Red Flags- None
Time of Race- 33 minutes, 27 seconds
JT Kerr Racing Equipment Hard Charger of the Race:

WhitePerformance.com Time Trials: Group A- Chris Madden 10.944 seconds (overall)
Group B- Bryan Hendrix 11.419

PPM Racing Products Last Chance Showdown #1- Steve Smith, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Mark Vineyard, Hunter Peacock, Riley Hickman, Bret Holmes (DNS- Bo Shirley)

PPM Racing Products Last Chance Showdown #2- Jason Trammell, Jason Hiett, Mark Rosner, Josh Henry, Kayne Hickman (DNS- Michael Chilton)

Current Southern All Stars Points (after April 6th):
1. Riley Hickman-418 (Chattanooga, TN)
2. Jason Hiett-386 (Oxford, AL)
2. Mike Weeks-386 (Friendsville, TN)
4. Jonathan Davenport-372 (Blairsville, GA)
5. Mark Rosner-358 (Rockford, TN)
6. Bret Holmes-310 (Munford, AL)
7. Billy Ogle Jr.-284 (Knoxville, TN)
8. Hunter Peacock-240 (Gray, GA)
9. Mark Vineyard-220 (Powell, TN)
10. Randy Weaver-214 (Crossville, TN)
11. Bo Shirley-210 (Gadsden, AL)

Current DirtonDirt.com/Cruise with the Champions Rookie of the Year Points (after April 6th):
1. Jason Hiett-127 (Oxford, AL)
2. Mark Rosner-126 (Rockford, TN)
3. Bret Holmes-122 (Munford, AL)

Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Event Winners:
#1-Jared Landers-Batesville, AR (Cherokee Speedway) March 3rd
#2-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Cleveland Speedway) March 9th
#3-Jonathan Davenport-Blairsville, GA (East AL Motor Speedway) March 16th
#4-Jonathan Davenport-Blairsville, GA (Smoky Mountain Speedway) March 23rd
# 5-Chris Madden-Gray Court, SC (Tazewell Speedway) April 6th

Upcoming Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series events:
May 4 Saturday Talladega Short Track/Eastaboga, AL $4,000 to win 40 laps
May 18 Saturday Cleveland Speedway/Cleveland, TN $4,000 to win 40 laps

2013 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Sponsors:
*Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series
*VP Racing Fuels “The Official Fuel” of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series
*Patriot Sports “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series

2013 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Supporters Include: AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Cruise with the Champions, DirtonDirt.com, H3 Performance Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, Intercomp Racing Systems, JT Kerr Racing Equipment, MSR Mafia Web Design and Service, PPM Racing Products, RockAuto.com, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil by Ed Lowe, The Joie of Seating, WhitePerformance.com.