Sunday, December 10, 2023

5.11.18 MARS Late Models Results

FARMER CITY, IL – May 11, 2018 – Shannon Babb of Mowequa, Ill. led the only lap that counted Friday Night at Farmer City Raceway, the final lap.
The pass coming off turn four in a photo finish at the flagstand on veteran driver Billy Moyer sent Babb to victory lane and the $10,000 payday. Babb drove the Clements Racing Engines-powered Rocket Chassis to his sixth career MARS Racing Series payday receiving sponsorship from Petroff Towing, Donley Trucking, CJI Piping & Fabricating, Hunting for Hope and Kuebler Ultra Oil. The event was co-sanctioned with the Sunoco American Late Model Series.
Polesitter Billy Moyer led until the final lap when Babb would make his move on the outside to take the win at the line in an epic finish. Moyer settled for second, Brian Shirley finished third, Tim Manville finished fourth to take the series points lead and Devin Gilpin rounded out the top five.
Three cautions slowed the 74 lapper which was presented by Douglas Dodge. The first caution came on lap 23 as Jose Parga slowed in turn two with a flat tire. The second caution came on lap 31 as Frank Heckenast Jr. spun at the bottom of turn one and the final yellow came on lap 32 as Tanner English spun in turn four.
The MARS Super Late Model Racing Series will be back to action tonight Saturday May 12 at the Fairbury American Legion Speedway in Fairbury, Ill. paying $10,000 to win.
Further information on the MARS Super Late Model Racing Series can be obtained by calling Promoter/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official series website located at
Official Summary of Results
Feature Results for MARS Super Late Model Racing Series at Farmer City Raceway in Farmer City, Ill. on May 11, 2018
1. Shannon Babb-Mowequa, Ill.
2. Billy Moyer-Batesville, Ark.
3. Brian Shirley-Chatham, Ill.
4. Tim Manville-Highland, Ill.
5. Devin Gilpin-Columbus, Ind.
6. Jimmy Mars-Menononie, Wis.
7. Billy Drake-Bloomington, Ill.
8. Dennis Erb- Jr.-Carpentersville, Ill.
9. Kent Robinson-Bloomington, Ind.
10. Jason Feger-Bloomington, Ill.
11. Ryan Unzicker-El Paso, Ill.
12. Frank Heckenast Jr.-Frankfort, Ill.
13. Nick Hoffman-Mooresville, N.C.
14. Cade Dillard-Robeline, La.
15. Tanner English-Benton, Ky.
16. Gordy Gundaker-St. Charles, Mo.
17. Caleb Ashby-Cunningham, Tenn.
18. Dean Carpenter-Coldwater, Miss.
19. David Seibers-Chapel Hill, Tenn.
20. Mike Spatola-Manhattan, Ill.
21. Casey Noonan-Sylvania, Ohio
22. Jose Parga-New Berlin, Ill.
23. Kevin Weaver-Gibson City, Ill.
24. Bob Gardner-East Peoria, Ill.
Time of Race: 18 minutes, 59 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.143 seconds
Yellow Flags: 3 (laps 23, 31, 32)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Billy Moyer (1-73), Shannon Babb (74)
Entries: 35
Wiles Driveshafts Top Qualifier: Ryan Unzicker-12.865 seconds
Provisional Starters: Dean Carpenter (MARS), Casey Noonan (ALMS), David Seibers (MARS emergency), Caleb Ashby (MARS emergency)
Heat One Finish: Billy Moyer, Kevin Weaver, Ryan Unzicker, Frank Heckenast Jr., Dennis Erb Jr., Kolby Vandengergh, Brent McKinnon, Steve Thorsten, Casey Noonan.
Heat Two Finish: Shannon Babb, Billy Drake, Kent Robinson, Cade Dillard, Collin Alexander, Jonathan Brauns, Donny Walden, Mike Spatola, Alan Weisser (DNS).
Heat Three Finish: Devin Gilpin, Brian Shirley, Tanner English, Bob Gardner, Bill Giannetti, Gordy Gundaker, Dean Carpenter, Drew Wilkerson, Doug Hammer.
Heat Four Finish: Tim Manville, Jimmy Mars, Nick Hoffman, Jose Parga, Jason Feger, David Seibers, Caleb Ashby, Russ Adams.
Consey One Finish: Dennis Erb Jr., Cade Dillard, Kolby Vandenbergh, Jonathan Brauns, Brent McKinnon, Steve Thorsten, Casey Noonan, Collin Alexander, Donny Walden.
Consey Two Finish: Jason Feger, Gordy Gundaker, Caleb Ashby, Bill Giannetti, David Seibers, Russ Adams, Drew Wilkerson, Dean Carpenter.
Current MARS Racing Series Points (after May 5)
1. Tim Manville-827
2. Tanner English-823
3. Dean Carpenter-789
4. Caleb Ashby-785
5. David Seibers-783
6. Dennis Erb Jr.-570
7. Brian Shirley-469
8. Gordy Gundaker-429
9. Drew Wilkerson-409
10. Jason Jameson-388