Sunday, December 10, 2023

5.11.18 Northern Outlaw Sprint Association Results

By Mike Spieker
GRAND FORKS, N.D. (May 12, 2018) – Mark Dobmeier returned to victory lane Friday night at River Cities Speedway’s season opener, despite not having a ride a mere six weeks prior. Dobmeier rolled into River Cities with a new look, a different chassis manufacturer, and a different engine builder, but he still showed the same blazing speed he’s always had.
The field of 19 Buffalo Wild Wings NOSA Sprints were led to the green by Thomas Kennedy and Chris Ranten. Kennedy grabbed early lead as Dobmeier drove from fourth to second on the opening lap. Kennedy pulled away from Dobmeier and the rest of the pack, but the field was slowed on lap four after Cale Mack got upside down. Mack was ok.
On the restart, Kennedy and Dobmeier engaged in a spectacular battle for the lead. The lead duo exchanged the lead no less than eight times over the course of three laps as they traded slide jobs at each end of the three-tenths mile oval.
On the ensuing lap six restart, Dobmeier got the best of Kennedy to claim the lead. Once out front, Dobmeier put his Buffalo Wild Wings No. 13 Maxim up on the cushion and checked out.
Dobmeier cruised to his 131st career win at River Cities by four seconds over Kennedy and Ranten.
A excited and emotional Dobmeier celebrated in victory lane with family, friends and his crew.
“It’s been crazy. This last month has been absolutely insane,” he said in Victory Lane. “I’ve never been more prouder and confident in life right now. I’ve got a ton of people to thank to help get this team together in such a short order.
A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 13-Mark Dobmeier, 14:44.601[4]; 2. 21K-Thomas Kennedy, 14:48.635[1]; 3. 27-Chris Ranten, 14:53.935[2]; 4. 2A-Austin Pierce, 14:58.859[13]; 5. 9N-Wade Nygaard, 14:44.827[5]; 6. 26-Blake Egeland, 14:45.589[7]; 7. 20A-Jordan Adams, 14:48.175[11]; 8. 8H-Jade Hastings, 14:48.345[12]; 9. 13T-Ty Hanten, 14:50.030[3]; 10. 14-Tom Egeland, 14:52.440[9]; 11. 55-Nick Ranten, 14:52.928[10]; 12. 0-Nick Omdahl, 14:54.145[15]; 13. 10TRB-Bob Martin, 14:58.302[6]; 14. 22-Tanner Wisk, 14:58.585[17]; 15. 31-Shane Roemeling, 14:47.767[16]; 16. 12-Brayden Pengilly, 14:53.318[8]; 17. 4M-Cale Mack, 01:17.106[19]; 18. (DNF) 11M-Brendan Mullen, 06:52.741[14]; 19. (DNF) 6-Zach Wilde, 01:16.163[18]
Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 21K-Thomas Kennedy, [3]; 2. 9N-Wade Nygaard, [1]; 3. 13-Mark Dobmeier, [6]; 4. 20A-Jordan Adams, [4]; 5. 26-Blake Egeland, [8]; 6. 8H-Jade Hastings, [7]; 7. 2A-Austin Pierce, [9]; 8. 11M-Brendan Mullen, [10]; 9. 22-Tanner Wisk, [2]; 10. 4M-Cale Mack, [5]
Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 27-Chris Ranten, [3]; 2. 13T-Ty Hanten, [4]; 3. 14-Tom Egeland, [2]; 4. 10TRB-Bob Martin, [6]; 5. 12-Brayden Pengilly, [8]; 6. 55-Nick Ranten, [9]; 7. (DNF) 0-Nick Omdahl, [7]; 8. (DNF) 31-Shane Roemeling, [5]; 9. (DNF) 6-Zach Wilde, [1]