8.14.10 California Lightning Sprints Results - Dirt Racing Report

8.14.10 California Lightning Sprints Results

Donnie Ganson got behind the wheel of a California Lightning Sprint Car for the first time in over 3 ½ years and led ever lap of the main event last Saturday, August 14th, at Perris Auto Speedway. Next up on the CLS schedule will be the 1st Annual Christian Stover Memorial at The PAS on August 28th. That race will pay $1,000.00 to win.

Arriving at the track with intentions on watching and not driving, Ganson, who is now a regular in the VRA 360 Sprint Car Series, jumped at the chance when he was offered the ride in Seth Kramer’s potent #12. The veteran racer begged and borrowed all of the safety equipment, including Seth Wilson’s firesuit, so he could compete in the race, which was conducted without wings on the tight PAS inner quarter mile track.

The original try to start the 20-lap main was deemed sloppy and waved off by officials. Going down the back straight as cars slowed down, Karl Von Yokes and another car got together sending Von Yokes into a series of violent flips. The Lakeside driver crawled from his battered racecar uninjured, but his night was over.

The second try to start the 20-lapper proved to be much better. Ramona’s Bobby Bender, who leads the series with five main event wins, rushed from the pole into the lead at the drop of the green flag. Ganson, who resides in San Bernardino, was second from the outside of the front row on the start and Spring Valley’s Jarrett Kramer was third.

Bender’s lead was short lived as Ganson relieved him of the top spot as they exited turn four on the first go’ round. Once he was out front Ganson stayed at the point the entire 20-lap distance.

Bobby Bender maintained the second place spot until he went wide in turn two on the third circuit. That allowed Kramer and series point leader A.J. Bender, who like his older brother also lives in Ramona, to sneak underneath for second and third. Bobby took the third spot back from his brother on lap five, but showing no respect, his younger sibling relegated him to fourth on the 13th lap.

A couple yellows late in the race – the last one with two laps to go – bunched up the field, but nobody could get around the veteran Ganson. At the finish it was an elated Ganson closely followed by Kramer. A.J. and Bobby Bender finished third and fourth respectively with San Diego’s Tim Moody in fifth.

Earlier in the evening, Kramer and A.J. Bender won the six lap heat races.

The CLS will take this Saturday off as competitors prepare for the August 28th Christian Stover Memorial at The PAS. The winner of that race will take home a $1,000.00 and there will be a $200.00 to win three-lap “Dash for Cash” for the four fastest qualifiers. In addition, the CLS will be auctioning off a pair of bicycles (one for a boy and one for a girl) and all of the money raised will go to the Christian Stover Foundation. The CLS stars and cars will be competing in front of one of the biggest crowds of the year on the 28th as they are teaming with the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Cars on the doubleheader program.

DVD’s from Saturday’s race will be available form Raceway Video. You can visit their website at: www.racewayvideo.com. You can also call: (818) 618-9764

California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to acknowledge the following sponsors for making the 2010 campaign possible. The Christian Stover Foundation, Performance by Rosson Racing, BK Wings, Circle Track Performance and Hoosier Tires. Anyone wishing to come on board as a series sponsor can call Brent Sexton at: (619) 454-6945.

For more information on this Saturday’s race or the 2010 California Lightning Sprint Car Series, contact Brent Sexton ((619) 454-6945 or sextonfire@cox.net) or Scott Daloisio (909 226-7768 or sdaloisiosports@aol.com).

MAIN EVENT FINISH (with starting positions)

1. Donnie Ganson – San Bernardino – (2nd)
2. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – (3rd)
3. A.J. Bender – Ramona, CA – (4th)
4. Bobby Bender – Ramona, CA – (1st)
5. Tim Moody – San Diego – (7th)
6. Dan Hillberg – Placentia, CA – (8th)
7. Guy Maresch – Anaheim Hills, CA – (6th)
8. Dale Gamer – Anaheim, CA – (12th)
9. Alexander Bissett – Hemet, CA – (10th)
10. Peter Benker – El Cajon, CA – (9th)
11. Devin Hillberg – Corona CA – (11th)
12. Karl Von Yokes – Lakeside, CA – (5th)

1. A.J. Bender – Ramona, CA – 1657
2. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – 1637
3. Bobby Bender – Ramona, CA – 1538
4. Dan Hillberg – Placentia, CA – 1347
5. Dale Gamer – Anaheim – 1294
6. Guy Maresch – Anaheim Hills – 1279
7. Robert Wilhelm – El Cajon – 1135
8. Seth Kramer – Spring Valley – 1066
9. Peter Benker – El Cajon – 985
10. Karl Von Yokes – Lakeside – 939

Bobby Bender … 5
Jarrett Kramer … 2
A.J. Bender … 2
Johnny Bluntach … 1
Cory Ballard … 1
Dan Hillberg … 1
Donnie Ganson … 1

August 28th … Perris Auto Speedway
September 11th … Ventura Raceway
September 25th … Bakersfield
October 2nd … Perris Auto Speedway
October 9th … Perris Auto Speedway (Southern California Fair)
November 5th & 6th … Perris Auto Speedway (Oval Nationals)

1994 Tony Everhart
1995 Gary Sexton
1996 Rob Sczymczak
1997 Jon Rahe
1998 Chris Rahe
1999 Brent Sexton
2000 Greg Bragg
2001 Greg Bragg
2002 Greg Bragg
2003 David Cardey
2004 Keith Janca
2005 Johnny Bates
2006 Donny Ganson
2007 Shane Rosson
2008 Brent Sexton
2009 Stuart Hielshier Sr.
2010 Jarrett Kramer

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report